Tax Prep - Best Practices?

I’m new to CANOPY. I am excited to bring all my clients on board and use CANOPY as a portal for tax preparation. I am interested to learn from other practitioners what have been some successful ways to encourage clients to accept invitations, how to use Engagement and Tasks to standardize the tax preparation process and any other advice you can provide.

Me too Gina. We can probably learn and share a lot from each other.
I’ve already started talking to clients about using this but don’t see much support for the compliance catergory.
Here’s what I’ve done so far:

1. Contacted Legal Shield for Engagement Letter Templates
  2. Complained to Canopy about my inability to collect signatures on any documents other than Letters. They said that it’s on the top of their list.
  3. I’m just trying to figure out how to do a tax prep survey. I have a Word document with the basic info I need to request but it’s cumbersome for the client. They have to download it in order to type on it or to hand fill it out, and then upload it again. That’s fine for the Milleniums but the older crowd my not be thrilled with that process.
    a. My next step is to pester the Canopy staff to find out how I can copy one of their surveys and modify it.
    b. Do you have any thoughts?
  4. Regarding scanning the documents, I’m working towards scanning the source documents at the time I’m meeting with the client and returning the originals at the same time.
    a. Right now we are keeping the originals until the tax return has been reviewed. (I have about 5 employees, and some are newbies)

If you want to talk tax prep in general, I have a lot of thoughts about how things should be done but they’re not related to canopy.

Thanks for responding…I was wondering if there was anybody ‘out there’ in cyberspace as this community appears to be rather small.